Skip to main content
Agriculture and rural development

Role of the Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO)

Established in 1945, the FAO is an intergovernmental UN organisation. It acts as a neutral forum for 194 Member Nations, two associate members and one member organisation, the European Union, to negotiate agreements and debate policy. Its headquarters are in Rome, Italy and it is present in over 130 countries.

It is a source of knowledge and information to help developing countries and countries in transition to modernise, improve agriculture, forestry and fisheries practices, and ensure good nutrition for all.

EU agriculture

The EU is a member organisation since 1991 and recognises the FAO as an essential actor on topics which constitute the central business of our common agricultural policy:

  • sustainable agriculture
  • harmonic rural development
  • food security.

The FAO also hosts the Committee on World Food Security (CFS), a multi-stakeholder platform designed to coordinate efforts on food security and nutrition.