

# **EU ORGANIC DAY – EU ORGANIC AWARDS CEREMONY 2023**

### MONDAY 25 SEPTEMBER 2023

### **DE GASPERI ROOM**

#### **CHARLEMAGNE BUILDING, RUE DE LA LOI, 170, 1000 BRUSSELS**

## PROGRAMME

- 08H00: Start of registration/coffee
- 09H00: Opening remarks by moderator
- 09H05: Keynote speech by Commissioner for Agriculture J. Wojciechowski
- 09H15: Award ceremony
  - Best organic farmer (female) award Handed out by Mr J. Plagge (President, IFOAM Organics Europe)
  - Best organic farmer (male) award Handed out by Mr L. Pofferi (Vice-President, COGECA)
  - Best organic region, city and biodistrict awards Handed out by Ms K. Bille (NAT Commission Member, European Committee of the Regions)
  - Best organic food processing SME, food retailer and restaurant/food service awards - Handed out by Mr O. Röpke (President, European Economic and Social Committee)

10H00: Moderated roundtable discussions (20 minutes each):

- #1: Working as an organic farmer today and in the future
  - Representative of the best organic farmer (female), representative of the best organic farmer (male), Ms L. Andersen (President, COPA-COGECA's Working Party on Organic farming) and J. Plagge (President, IFOAM Organics Europe)



• #2: Local and regional authorities fostering organic production and consumption

Representative of the best organic region, representative of the best organic city, representative of the best organic bio-district and Ms K. Bille (NAT Commission Member, European Committee of the Regions)

• #3: Organic food processors, retailers and restaurants connecting with consumers

Representative of the best organic food processing SME, representative of the best organic food retailer, representative of the best organic restaurant/food service and Mr P. Schmidt (President, NAT Section, European Economic and Social Committee)

### • #4: Achievements of the EU Action Plan for the Development of Organic Production and the future development of the sector

Commissioner for Agriculture Janusz Wojciechowski, MEP S. Schmiedtbauer (Member of the European Parliament), Mr F. Miranda Sotillos (Spanish Secretary-General of Agriculture), Mr P. Schmidt (President, NAT Section, European Economic and Social Committee), Ms K. Bille (NAT Commission Member, European Committee of the Regions), Mr L. Pofferi (Vice-President, COGECA) and Mr J. Plagge (President, IFOAM Organics Europe)

- 11H30: Q&A with journalists
- 11H45: Cocktail
- 12H30: Lunch hosted by Commissioner for Agriculture J. Wojciechowski for award winners and invited guests